The AIBs are the international awards for factual video, audio and interactive productions.

2017 marks the 13th year of these independent, influential and respected awards.

“The AIBs are some of the most intelligent, thoughtful awards in the industry”

The AIBs 2017 - shortlist published

The Association for International Broadcasting is pleased to announce the shortlist for the AIBs 2017. 

2017 has been a record year for this competition that rewards the best factual productions across video, audio and online. The AIBs are truly international, with work submitted from every continent.

It has been a tremendous challenge for us to deliver this shortlist, as so many – if not all – of the entries deserve recognition. The productions included in this year’s final selection are remarkable, adopting a wide range of techniques to cover a wide range of subjects.

See the list online here.

The AIBs 2017 gala will take place in London on Wednesday 1 November 2017, hosted by Matthew Amroliwala (pictured right), host of Global on BBC World News.

On the following day, we'll hold our #iamabroadcaster The AIBs 2017 Masterclass. This is free to attend for all those who come to the Awards gala night. There will be a nominal fee for others. Full information on the Masterclass will be released at the beginning of October. 

Places for the Awards night can be booked here.

The AIBs 2017 | supporting .radio

2017 is a big year for radio. A new Top Level Domain (TLD) name – .radio – is being launched for the radio community that will progressively change the way people are reaching internet resources linked to radio.

.radio can be used for web and email addresses and will be managed by the EBU with the support of the other world broadcasting unions, including the Association for International Broadcasting.

Exceptionally for the internet world, this project is a Community TLD, run for the benefit of the whole radio industry as well as amateur enthusiasts and people and companies with active interest in the radio sector.

The World .Radio Advisory Board (WRAB) provides guidance on the administration of the domain. The AIB’s chief executive, Simon Spanswick, chairs the WRAB.

More information is available at

The AIBs 2017 | open to productions in every language

Key information in selected languages

Book your tickets for the awards night on 1 November here.

The AIBs 2017 – categories

Entries have closed


Breaking news report
Continuing news coverage
News feature
Short documentary
Science, technology and nature
Human interest
Politics and business
Arts and culture
International affairs
Children’s and youth
Presenter of the year


Continuing news coverage
News feature
Arts and culture
Human interest
Presenter of the year




AIB Impact Award

Entries for the AIBs 2017 closed in July. 

You can read the entry book online here

The AIBs 2017 – sponsors

The Association for International Broadcasting is delighted to welcome the inaugural sponsors of the AIBs 2017.

You can learn about our sponsors by clicking on their logos.

To find out more about the benefits of sponsoring the AIBs, look at the panel below.

Sponsor the AIBs 2017

With unprecedented global reach over nine months of constant marketing, the AIBs provide the perfect opportunity to gain brand exposure among executives, producers, journalists, editors, technologists and other media leaders in over 150 countries. 

Read our new partnership brochure in digital page-turning edition that explains about the AIBs, our marketing plan, and sets out some ideas of how your company can support this influential and highly respected competition.

You can also download the brochure in PDF format here.

The AIBs 2017 Advisory Group

The Association for International Broadcasting has made sure that the radio and audio sectors are well represented in our Advisory Group that has helped to shape this year’s awards.

The first meeting of the Advisory Group took place on the 10 March and included radio professionals from the USA, Malaysia, Romania and the UK alongside colleagues from television.

The Association for International Broadcasting thanks the Advisory Group members for devoting their time to helping make this year’s awards even more relevant than ever.


Al Brown – Head of Film and Television – VICE UK
Dorothy Byrne – Head of News and Current Affairs – Channel 4, UK
Jo Clinton-Davis – Controller of Factual – ITV, UK
Eugen Cojocariu – Head of Radio – Radio Romania International
Phil Critchlow – CEO – TBI Media, UK
John Lippman – Deputy, Language Programming – Voice of America
Paul Martin – Founder – MediaZones, UK
Greg Moyer – CEO – Blue Chalk Media, USA
Andrew O’Connell – VP Development & Production – Discovery Channel, UK
Carla Sapsford Newman – Management – Business FM 89.9, Malaysia
Will Saunders – Creative Director, Digital – BBC Studios
Ben Taylor – Director – Snappin’ Turtle, UK
Anders Thomsen – Commissioning Executive, Documentary – DR1, DR3, Denmark
Steve Titherington – Senior Commissioner – BBC World Service

Watch highlights of the AIBs 2016

The AIBs 2016 were hosted by Mark Barton, presenter on Bloomberg Television, and attended by guests from over 20 countries.

The AIBs 2017 open for entry on 3 April, with the awards event taking place in London on 1 November. 

Full information on this year’s competition will be published on this website.